Why your idea of ‘good parenting’ is fucking your kid up.  

I don’t have a lot of experience when it comes to being a spectator to other people’s families. It’s not like I’m that busy. I also don’t live in the middle of nowhere. For the most part, it just doesn’t come up. When it has, my wife and I have been consistently blown away by how shitty most families are

I’m not a snob. 

I don’t think that I know more than any other parent from my age group. I am also without academic credentials that would label me an expert in all of the things that I run long at the mouth on in this arena. With that in mind, when I am invited to someone else’s home, who is my age and has children that my other children run around with, I can’t help but notice all of the shit that is wrong or could be done differently. 

A lot of my distate towards other families stems from my fellow parents and their inability to deal with their own shit

So what if you had a bad childhood? You’re not tipping the scales the other way when you put ‘Little Johnny’ on a pedestal. The only thing that you are doing is giving him license to act like a little asshole when you unleash him on the neighborhood.

SO you hated the fact that your parents made you do chores and DIDN’T PAY YOU for the half-ass job you probably would have done? Your precious little Susie-Q isn’t going to fare any better than you would have.

OH BOO HOO! Your parents made you keep a consistent bed time even if it was the summer? OH YOU POOR DEAR! In retaliation you’re letting your little miscreant stay up until he passes out from exhaustion? Bully for you! Great job totally disregarding the fact that kids need to sleep. A LOT. Not just for mental growth, but for physical as well. No, you’re not setting him up for failure at all.

To date, only one family has passed muster with me. (I’m looking at you, ROCK FARMER).

What parenting is. 

Parenting isn’t about you. It’s not about your bullshit baggage that you have been carrying around since you left home. It’s about the descendant(s) you have created. 

Want your kid to have it better than you did? Give him what you could have benefitted from. 

Think your parents did a shitty job with you? Do the opposite of what they did. 

Think your parents did a good job with you? Do an even better job than they did. 

What I’m getting at. 

The greatest thing I have ever heard about parenting came out of the mouth of Keanu Reeves when he was in the movie ‘Parenthood’.

You need a license to drive funny cars but they’ll let any asshole be a parent.

 No amount of planning will prepare you for being a parent. You could have contingency plans like most people have worry. It won’t matter.

Before you bring that small bag of respirating water home, you need to fully wrap your mind around the idea that you no longer live for your self, you’re living for someone else.

Leave a Reply

